History

1951 – New beginnings

After losing three weaving mills in Oberlausitz and spending three years as a prisoner of war, Alfred Apelt and his wife Gerda embark on a new beginning in 1951. With a few handlooms and a railway wagon full of yarn, they move to Oberkirch. In addition to producing headscarves, bedspreads and cushions, there is soon a table linen collection called Barbara.

History_Alfred und Gerda Apelt

APE_History01

 

08_bearbeitet_sw

1960 – First collection of interior fabrics

A crucial change is made to the production programme to fall in line with the market and the sophisticated requirements of the customers. Ceasing production of bedspreads and cushion covers the first decorative and transparent fabric collection alongside with table linens gets created.

12_bearbeitet_sw

 

1972 – Climax of the expansion phase

By now, the company is employing almost 400 people. A new production technique has conquered the market and the first crochet machine is installed. There is a fresh focus for the entire curtain industry. Transparent crochet-look curtains become highly fashionable.

During this phase Alfred Apelt passes away at the age of 70.

Portrait_Apelt_01

Apelt_Betrieb516

 

 

Apelt_Betrieb14004

1982 – New opportunities

Ottmar Ihling joins the family business and with Klaus Apelt they jointly run and manage the company. Donata Apelt-Ihling adds impact to the design department with fashionable influences.

New opportunities to become a global textile supplier are created through restructuring the production process and creating new distribution channels.

 

1999 – Expanding markets

By acquiring a new factory, Apelt-Polska is founded. This systematic expansion into a high-tech company allows new product areas to develop. Automotive interior textile systems, furnishings and the manufacture of bed linen broaden the traditional portfolio.

 

 

2005 – Brand relaunch

Decorate your life. Apelt’s new brand concept establishes the company as a textile specialist throughout the world.

 

 

2009 – High tech

With its highly technical weaving mill in Oberkirch and its 150 employees throughout Europe, Apelt is one of the most fully-integrated, modern textile companies in Germany. Thanks to new opportunities in technology, it produces great variety in high-quality design

 

 

since 2011 – The third generation

The tradition of the family-run business goes from strength to strength. Donata Apelt-Ihling and Ottmar Ihling continue to develop collections with their daughter Karoline Ihling for a worldwide market.

Historie

1951 – NEUBEGINN

Nach dem Verlust von drei Webereien in der Oberlausitz und nach drei Jahren Kriegsgefangenschaft wagt Alfred Apelt mit seiner Frau Gerda 1951 den Neuanfang. Mit einigen Handwebstühlen und einem Eisenbahnwaggon voll Garn ziehen sie ins badische Oberkirch. Über die Produktion von Kopftüchern, Diwandecken und Kissen entsteht in kurzer Zeit eine Tischwäschekollektion unter dem Namen Barbara.

History_Alfred und Gerda Apelt

APE_History01

 

08_bearbeitet_sw

1960 –  ERSTE DEKOSTOFF-KOLLEKTION

Dem Markt und den anspruchsvolleren Verbraucherwünschen angepasst, erfolgt eine strategisch entscheidende Veränderung des Produktionsprogrammes. Die Fertigung von Diwandecken und Kissenhüllen wird eingestellt. Dafür wird neben der Tischwäsche-Kollektion die erste Deko- und Transparentstoff-Kollektion auf den Markt gebracht.

12_bearbeitet_sw

 

1972 – HÖHEPUNKT DER AUFBAUPHASE

Das Unternehmen beschäftigt fast 400 Mitarbeiter. Eine neue Produktionstechnik erobert den Markt und die erste Häkelmaschine wird installiert. Damit werden für die gesamte Gardinenbranche neue Akzente gesetzt.Transparente Grobgardinen im Häkellook werden große Mode.

In dieser Phase stirbt Alfred Apelt im Alter von 70 Jahren.

Portrait_Apelt_01

Apelt_Betrieb516

 

 

Apelt_Betrieb14004

1982 –  NEUE CHANCEN

Ottmar Ihling tritt als Gesellschafter in das Familienunternehmen ein. Gemeinsam mit Klaus Apelt verantwortet er die Geschäftsführung des Unternehmens. Donata Apelt-Ihling stärkt die Designkompetenz durch modische Impulse.

Die Umstrukturierung der Produktion und neue Vertriebswege bieten weltweit neue Chancen als Textillieferant.

 

1999 – ERWEITERTE MÄRKTE

Durch die Übernahme einer Konfektion kann die Neugründung von Apelt-Polska erfolgen. Mit dem konsequenten Auf- und Ausbau zu einer hochtechnisierten Konfektion werden nun neue Produktbereiche erfolgreich aufgebaut.

Automotive interior textile systems, Objektausstattungen und die Fertigung von Schlafsystemen erweitern das angestammte Portfolio.

 

 

2005 – NEUER MARKENAUFTRITT

DECORATE YOUR LIFE. Das neue Dachmarkenkonzept stärkt Apelt in allen Produktbereichen. So kann sich der Textilspezialist mit seiner Vertriebsstrategie weltweit etablieren.

 

2009 – HOHES TECHNISCHES NIVEAU

Mit der hoch technisierten Weberei in Oberkirch und europaweit 150 Mitarbeitern gehört Apelt zu den modernen, vollstufigen Textilbetrieben in Deutschland.

Dank der neuen technischen Möglichkeiten entstehen Dessins in großer Vielfalt und hochwertiger Qualität.

 

 

seit 2011 – DIE dritTE GENERATION

Die Tradition des Familienunternehmens wird fortgeführt. Donata Apelt-Ihling und Ottmar Ihling bringen heute ihre Kollektionen gemeinsam mit ihrer Tochter Karoline Ihling auf den Markt.